DAM Architectural Book Award for the ten best architectural books in 2018 bestowed

2018 is the tenth time the Frankfurt Book Fair and Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM) have bestowed the International DAM Architectural Book Award. Now highly respected, the prize, the only one of its kind honors the best architectural books in a year. 96 architectural and art book publishers from all over the world accepted the joint invitation to participate. On September 04, 2018 a jury made up of external experts and representatives of DAM met to select the year’s ten best architectural books from 238 entries. They based their decision on criteria such as design, content, quality of material and finishing, innovation, and topicality.

The prize winners of the DAM Architectural Book Award 2018

51N4E Skanderbeg Square, Tirana / Chapter 1
Verlag: Ruby Press, Berlin

Dom Hans van der Laan. A House for the Mind
Verlag: Flemish Architecture Institute, Antwerpen

Franz Riepl baut auf dem Land. Eine Ästhetik des Selbstverständlichen
Verlag: Birkhäuser Verlag, Basel

Konrad Wachsmann and the Grapevine Structure
Verlag: Park Books, Zürich

The Noise Landscape. A Spatial Exploration of Airports and Cities
Verlag: nai010 publishers, Rotterdam

The Potemkin Village
Verlag: Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg

Raster Beton. Vom Leben in Großwohnsiedlungen zwischen Kunst und Platte. Leipzig-Grünau im internationalen Vergleich
Verlag: M Books, Weimar

Simon Phipps Finding Brutalism. Eine fotografische Bestandsaufnahme britischer Nachkriegsarchitektur
Verlag: Park Books, Zürich

Toward a Concrete Utopia. Architecture in Yugoslavia 1948-1980
Verlag: The Museum of Modern Art – MoMA, New York

Yamuna River Project. New Delhi Urban Ecology
Verlag: Actar Publisher, UVA, Barcelona

This year the external jury comprised: Bernd Kuchenbeiser (designer), Vladka Kupska (Book Fair Frankfurt), Dr. Annette Ludwig (Director Gutenbergmuseum / Mainz), Martin Seelinger (architect, treasurer of the Society of Friends of DAM), Jan Wenzel (Spector Books), Stefanie Zoche (photographer)

The internal jurors were: Andrea Jürges (Deputy Director DAM), Dr. Annette Becker (curator DAM), Christina Budde (education curator DAM) and Oliver Elser (curator DAM)

The wide range of topics and the high standard of the entries presented the jury with an enormous challenge. For this reason the jurors once again decided not only to pick ten prize winners, but also to select a further ten entries for the Shortlist of the DAM Architectural Book Award 2018.

Deutsches Architekturmuseum would like to thank the Society of Friends of Deutsches Architekturmuseum for its generous support.

Exhibition of the awarded books at the Frankfurt Book Fair
October 10 – 14, 2018
Hall 4.1, Centre for Photography and Illustration


Christiane Eulig
phone +49 (0)69 – 212 30827 | Fax +49 (0)69 – 212 37721

Herausgeber: © Deutsches Architekturmuseum Frankfurt a.M., Schaumainkai 43, 22.04.2019