Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM) and the Frankfurt Book Fair are this year asking again for entries to be submitted for the DAM Architectural Book Award 2018. All art and architectural book publishers worldwide are invited to do so. A varying jury comprising DAM internal jurors as well as external experts will judge the submissions according to design, concept, quality in terms of material and finishing, level of innovation and timeliness.

Even in this era of growing competition through new media and communication methods books on architecture still remain the basic architectural medium. Identifying the best architectural books published in the current year by way of this competition and presenting them to architecture enthusiasts is thus a fundamental task of the DAM Architectural Book Award. As an honorary award it does not involve any award money. The prize winners are being presented at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

The DAM Architectural Book Award was initiated in 2009 and ever since it has been met with increasing response. So this year’s DAM Architectural Book Award will consciously open up gain to an international range of participants.


All architecture books that have an ISBN and were published between June 2017 and the submissions deadline of August 31, 2018 are eligible as entries for the DAM Architectural Book Award. In the case of book series and multi-volume works a single volume or the entire work may be submitted.

Publications compiled primarily for marketing purposes, may not take part. Furthermore, magazines, calendars, journals and online publications will not be considered; e-books are not allowed. Unpublished books and those with very small print runs are not eligible either. Publications having participated in 2017 cannot be submitted again.

The architectural books submitted could be judged according to the following or similar categories / topics:

• architectural monographs
• architectural theory
• construction monographs
• illustrated book
• documentation
• (contemporary) history
• children’s book
• landscape architecture
• textbook
• materials science
• urban planning
• special subject

When in session the jury reserves the right to make a fresh decision on categorization of the entries.

The sender agrees to the transfer of the submitted books to the library of the DAM.

Deutsches Architekturmuseum cannot assume any customs charges. For anyone dispatching materials from outside the EU we therefore recommend you use a courier service or provide suitable documentation for the goods sent.


Principally the jury will determine prize winners and award recognitions. The jury consists of external experts (publishers, photographers, book designers, architecture critics) and DAM staff members. The jury is free to make its own decision which cannot be challenged.

Deutsches Architekturmuseum in collaboration with Frankfurt Book Fair is the organizer of the DAM Architecural Book Award.


Entries to be submitted
March 15 – August 31, 2018
Please note that entries submitted later than August 31, 2018 cannot be considered.

Exhibition of the awarded books at the Frankfurt Book Fair
October 10 – 14, 2018
Hall 4.1, Centre for Photography and Illustration


Christiane Eulig
phone +49 (0)69 – 212 30827 | Fax +49 (0)69 – 212 37721

Herausgeber: © Deutsches Architekturmuseum Frankfurt a.M., Schaumainkai 43, 22.09.2018