The jury of the International Highrise Award (IHP) 2014 resolved unanimously: the residential highrise Bosco Verticale in Milan/Italy has won the prize, worth EUR 50,000, for the world’s most innovative highrise. The firm Boeri Studio (Stefano Boeri, Gianandrea Barreca, Giovanni La Varra), now Stefano Boeri Architetti and Barreca & La Varra, and the developer Manfredi Catella (Hines Italia SGR S.p.A.) received the prize statuette and the prize money on 19 November 2014 at the awards ceremony in Frankfurt’s Paulskirche. The IHP prize was awarded by Prof. Felix Semmelroth, the City of Frankfurt Deputy Mayor for Culture, and Dr. Matthias Danne, Member of the Board for Real Estate and Finance at DekaBank. Choosing for the Bosco Verticale, the IHP 2014 awarded a project that blazes the trail for greened highrises and can be considered a prototype for the cities of tomorrow.

The finalists 2014 at a glance:

  • Bosco Verticale (Milan\Italy) by Boeri Studio, Milan
  • De Rotterdam (Rotterdam\Netherlands) by Office for Metropolitan Architecture, Rotterdam
  • One Central Park (Sydney\Australia) by Ateliers Jean Nouvel (design architect), Paris, and PTW Architects (architect of record), Sydney
  • Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel, L’Hospitalet de Llobregat (Barcelona\Spain) by Ateliers Jean Nouvel, Paris, and RIBAS & RIBAS Arquitectos, Barcelona
  • Sliced Porosity Block (Rafles City Chengdu, Chengdu\China) by Steven Holl Architects, New York 

The most important international architecture prize for highrises is aimed at architects and developers, whose buildings are at least 100 meters high and were completed in the past two years. The jury judges the nominated projects on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Pioneering design
  • Functionality
  • Innovative balding technology
  • Urban integration
  • Sustainability
  • Cost effectiveness

The City of Frankfurt has bestowed The International Highrise Award every two years since 2004. It was jointly initiated in 2003 by the City of Frankfurt, Deutsches Architekturmuseum and DekaBank. It has since been organized by Deutsches Architekturmuseum and DekaBank cooperating as partners, and in 2014 will be bestowed for the sixth time. The honor is awarded to a structure that combines exemplary sustainability, external shape and internal spatial quality, not to mention social aspects, to create a model design. The prize, a statuette by the internationally renowned artist Thomas and EUR 50,000 is awarded to the planners and developers jointly.

Chair of the international jury determining the outcome of the 2014 International Highrise Award is the winner of the 2012 IHA Christoph Ingenhoven (ingenhoven architects, Düsseldorf). The other members of the jury are: Louisa Hutton (architect and founding partner of sauerbruch hutton, Berlin), Jan Knippers (civil engineer, Professor at the University of Stuttgart and partner at Knippers Helbig Advanced Engineering), Swantje Kühn (founder of GKK+Architekten, member of the German Architects Association and Professor at the University of Ostwestfalen-Lippe), Yew-Thon Leong (Professor at Ryerson University, Toronto and, among other things, CEO of SSG International), Neil Thomas (founder and Director of Atelier One, London), Horst R. Muth (Head of Project Management at Deka Immobilien GmbH, Frankfurt/Main), Peter Cachola Schmal (Director of Deutsches Architekturmuseum, Frankfurt/Main), Thomas Schmengler (CEO of Deka Immobilien GmbH, Frankfurt/Main) and Felix Semmelroth (Deputy Mayor in charge of Culture and Science for the City of Frankfurt/Main).

Herausgeber: © Deutsches Architekturmuseum Frankfurt a.M., Schaumainkai 43, 22.04.2019